## Report of Students' Welfare Committee 2024-2025

## Convenor: Dr. Dharmendra Kumar, Professor, Department of Mathematics

The Students' Welfare Committee, driven by its commitment to academic excellence and inclusivity, has undertaken several initiatives to support students from economically weaker sections and those with disabilities. These efforts aim to ensure that financial constraints do not hinder their educational aspirations. On November 8, 2024, an interview process was conducted to identify and shortlist students in need of financial assistance from a pool of 200 scholarship applicants. Following a thorough evaluation, scholarships worth Rs. 9,17,000/-(Rupees Nine Lakh Seventeen Thousand only) were awarded to 106 deserving students, enabling them to pursue their studies with greater ease.

To further enhance awareness about available financial aid opportunities, the committee organized an online seminar on December 5, 2024, in collaboration with Buddy4Study Foundation. This session provided valuable insights into various scholarship programs, equipping students with the knowledge to explore and apply for financial assistance.

In addition to supporting economically weaker students, the committee also prioritized the needs of students with disabilities. Twelve ANGEL Devices were procured and distributed to ensure better accessibility and learning support. Furthermore, the Help the Blind Foundation (HTBF) awarded scholarships totaling Rs. 2,10,000/- (Rupees Two Lakh Ten Thousand only) to students under the Persons with Disabilities (PWD) category, benefiting 10 first-year students and 11 second-year students in 2025.

Through these initiatives, the Students' Welfare Committee remains steadfast in its mission to foster an inclusive, equitable, and supportive academic environment, empowering students to achieve their full potential. The Student Welfare Committee held its annual award ceremony on May 7, 2024, honoring 43 students who secured second place in their respective courses with a trophy and a certificate. Furthermore, seven students of Foreign languages viz. French, Spanish, German, Japanese, Korean and Chinese; were awarded with certificate of appreciation. Additionally, seven students received merit-cum-means scholarships, established by current and retired faculty members, as well as eminent personalities associated with the college. This event recognized academic excellence and provided financial support to deserving students, reinforcing the institution's commitment to nurturing talent and promoting educational opportunities.

## Committee members:

- 1. Dr. Satnam Kaur, Department of Chemistry
- 2. Dr. Madhvi Zutshi, Department of English
- 3. Dr. Anjana Sagar, Department of Botany
- 4. Dr. Madhu, Department of Commerce
- 5. Dr. Gaganpreet Kaur, Department of Economics
- 6. Dr. Gurjeet Kaur, Department of Botany







